Spicy Sweet Potato Wedges – Recipe

I live in a small town in Ireland and it’s really difficult to find certain vegan items. Vegenaise? Nope. Nutritional yeast? Forget it. One of the items I could never seem to find no matter where I looked was frozen sweet potato chips (or fries, for you Americans out there).

There were bags and bags of regular potato versions but no sweet potato ones. I pretty much accepted this and just made my own any time I had a craving but, lo and behold, I recently found a bag during my weekly shop. Obviously I’m absolutely delighted because this means I don’t HAVE TO make them from scratch, even though homemade is sometimes preferable. Anyway, just thought I’d share my little victory with you!

If you want to make sweet potato fries from scratch or if your town or village doesn’t sell the frozen kind, check out my recipe below.

sweet potato chips

Ingredients: 

One large sweet potato, preferably round 

Extra virgin olive oil or coconut oil 

Spanish paprika 

Sea salt 

Black pepper 

Lemon 

Parsley to garnish 

Step 1: Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees. Cut the sweet potato in slices that look like large circles, then cut them again in wedges, as if you were cutting a pizza. Continue doing this until the entire sweet potato has been cut into wedges.

Step 2: Place the wedges into a bowl and add 1 tablespoon of oil. Mix that up so all the wedges are coated.

Step 3: Sprinkle between half a teaspoon to one whole teaspoon of spanish paprika over the wedges in the bowl. How much is up to you depending on how spicy you like it.

Step 4: Add a dash of black pepper and salt with approximately a tablespoon of parsley to the mix.

Step 5: Squeeze a quarter of a lemon into the bowl and mix everything up.

Step 6: Place the wedges carefully spread out on a baking tray and slide it into the pre-heated oven.

Step 7: Leave the wedges for 15 minutes, turning occasionally.

Voila! Pair with a small bowl of ketchup and you have yourself a delicious vegan snack.

Leave a Reply

