What I Eat In A Day As A Vegan

I don’t keep track of what I eat every day; generally I’ll just eat what I want to when I want to and that’s my strategy for health and happiness. I thought it would be interesting to film a What I Eat In A Day video to document what I’m eating and to give others a few recipe ideas, so I got my camera ready and filmed my whole day!

It was actually a lot tougher than I thought! I found filming and making my food at the same time to be a real challenge as my camera kept bumping into things,Β the steam clogged up the lens and a couple of things ended up overdone because I’m not the world’s best multi-tasker.

Overall, however, I thought it was a good representation of my meals every day and it was interesting for me to see which areas I’m falling down in nutrients-wise. For instance, when I filmed the video it happened to be a day where I ate a lot of vegetables but not a lot of fruit, and generally I like to balance the two as much as possible.

I’m always eager to make sure that I’m as healthy as I can be and I love finding other YouTubers and bloggers who have great recipe ideas for me to try out. Sometimes I’ll come across something so simple and delicious that it makes me wonder how I hadn’t tried it before! I’m no Jamie Oliver, but I do have a few simple tricks that other vegans can try as well for some yummy meals.

One of the things I always do is I add a mashed up banana to my porridge to make it creamier, as alternative milks like rice and soy on their own are a little too watery for a really hearty, creamy porridge. Another thing I’ve started to do lately is to squeeze a lemon onto watermelon – if you haven’t tried this already, you must! It makes the watermelon taste even more refreshing and the bitterness is somehow neutralised (don’t ask me how!) so that it’s like biting into a watermelon-flavoured lemonade square. Delish!

I also add pistachios to EVERYTHING – they’re so so tasty and they can make any bland old dish like porridge or plain ice cream or cereal just a little more exotic. I like nuts in general but I think pistachios are the best nut for cheering up an otherwise bland meal.

Check out my What I Eat In A Day vlog below!

Do you have any tips and tricks for a fellow vegan? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

