Cucumber Salad With Mint Dressing – Recipe

There are few things more refreshing than watermelon, but at €4 a pop, they can be expensive for everyday use! I could eat my weight in watermelon if I had my way, but I’ve never had the chance to try unfortunately. I’m constantly on the lookout for other fruit and veg that is as refreshing as my beloved melon, and there are a few alternatives out there that are great for mixing it up. One of these is the glorious cucumber.

I personally love the taste of cucumber and I would happily sit with a stick of it and munch on it all day. It’s like the vegetable version of pistachios for me, which I also can’t get enough of. There are plenty of ways to eat it, whether that’s on its own, in a smoothie, in a soup with some puréed peas, in a burger or in a salad. As they’re light and easy to make, I’ve been eating a lot of the the latter, salads.

This recipe is super quick and easy to put together and the mint dressing makes it taste so refreshing.

Ingredients: 

1 tomato 

1 cup of kale 

2 cups of ice burg lettuce 

1 tbsp of chia seeds 

A handful of cashews 

1 third of a large cucumber 

mint dressing recipe

Dressing ingredients: 

1 large mint leaf (or several smaller ones) 

1/2 lemon 

Method: 

Cut the tomato and cucumber into pieces and throw in a bowl.

Wash the kale and lettuce and tear into chunks. Add them to the bowl.

Throw in the chia seeds and cashews and toss the veg together.

Fill up a small bottle of water and add the mint leaf (fresh is best as they are pungent) and the juice of half the lemon.

Shake the bottle and put in the fridge for 5 minutes to chill.

Pour liberally over the salad.

Note: I use an old lemonade bottle with a wine spout on top to store my dressing. It should last a couple of days. 

3 thoughts on “Cucumber Salad With Mint Dressing – Recipe

Leave a Reply

