SynerChi Live Kombucha Drink – Review

I was in The Natural Way in Donegal today to pick up a few things and I noticed that they were stocking SynerChi, a new kombucha drink by a company from Donegal. I first heard about the brand from Green Leafy Gael who, like me, is a vegan blogger from Donegal. She wrote up a great review lately about the brand and the drinks and I made a mental note to try them if I saw them around.

I’m delighted that I finally get to give them a go! I picked out the Oranges & Lemon and Original Sencha Tea flavours, although there was another Lemongrassy one available in the shop as well. I’m a huge fan of green tea, so I figured kombucha is the next logical step for my taste buds!

What exactly is kombucha? 

According to SynerChi’s sales executive, Nick Mulhall, kombucha is a fermented green tea with real live cultures present.

Created by brewmaster Laura Murphy, SynerChi is certified organic, raw and vegan and is naturally gluten, dairy and soy free. It is 100% natural with no artificial colours, additives or preservatives and is just 59 calories per bottle (330ml).

SynerChi live kombucha

Not only is SynerChi naturally carbonated (which makes it a healthy soda alternative), it’s also great for gut health and is an excellent aid for digestion.

I tried the Oranges & Lemon flavour first, as it seemed the safest bet, and I really enjoyed it. I didn’t expect the smell, as it had a faint cider kind of scent, but it was really pleasant after getting used to it. I’d definitely buy this flavour again as it was refreshing and it really was like drinking a regular soda.

SynerChi live kombucha

The Original Sencha Tea smell hit me like a freight train. I really wasn’t a fan of the smell but the taste is fine, it’s just a little plain in comparison to the Oranges & Lemon flavour. I think it’s a bit of an acquired taste, but it was still nice and refreshing. I can see these being great for picnics and I already plan on bringing a bottle to the cinema this weekend.

Here is a list of healing properties from drinking kombucha, according to Whole Lifestyle Nutrition: 

  • Probiotics – healthy bacteria
  • Alkalizes the body – balances internal pH
  • Increases metabolism – rev your internal engine
  • Improves digestion – keep your system moving
  • Rebuilds connective tissue – helps with arthritis, gout, asthma, rheumatism
  • Cancer prevention
  • Alleviates constipation
  • Boosts energy – helps with chronic fatigue
  • Reduces blood pressure
  • Relieves headaches & migraines
  • Reduces kidney stones
  • High in antioxidants – destroy free-radicals that cause cancer
  • High in polyphenols
  • Improves eyesight
  • Heals eczema – can be applied topically to soften the skin
  • Prevents artheriosclerosis
  • Speeds healing of ulcers – kills h.pylori on contact
  • Helps clear up candida and yeast infections
  • Aids healthy cell regeneration
  • Reduces gray hair
  • Lowers glucose levels – prevents spiking from eating

That’s a lot of benefits! I plan on trying all the flavours on offer so we’ll see if I experience the positive side effects touted above. I’m really looking forward to trying Raspberry & Rosehip as raspberry is one of my all-time favourite flavours.

Overall, I’m happy with my purchases and I love that the company is local; it’s really important to support independent businesses so buy local when you can!

Although these drinks seem to deliver some great health benefits, I’ve come across a few articles that warns against drinking them if you’re pregnant or nursing. As a fermentation process is used, that makes sense, and although there’s no solid evidence that it’s harmful, I’d rather be safe than sorry if a baby’s health could be negatively affected.

Leave a Reply

