The Hatter Tea Room | Vegan Food in Donegal

As I chronicled in my last vlog, I went to Stranorlar last week to check out The Hatter Tea Room with a friend of mine and her baby. The café is breastfeeding-friendly so that was a big reason for going in the first place, but I was even more excited to find out that they sell vegan treats.

This is a big deal to me as not many regular cafés/restaurants in Donegal (or many places in Ireland for that matter) sell any vegan food whatsoever. I messaged the owner on Facebook the day before we went and asked if they had vegan options and he was very helpful, offering me several choices. He also said that they had a selection of vegan sweets available so, needless to say, I was buzzing about trying those.

Although I initially thought the café was called the Hatter Tea Room for no reason, it does actually have an Alice in Wonderland theme. It’s so pretty inside and the atmosphere is lovely and peaceful, with plenty of seating and light.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

You can immediately see the vegan food on offer when you walk in the door, as a selection of Natasha’s Living Food kale crisps were displayed as well as chocolate treats from Lazy Day Foods. SynerChi’s kombucha drinks were also available to buy (I reviewed the drinks recently) but I decided to go for a coconut cappuccino instead. The café is well known for it and it’s one of those things that’s accidentally vegan and absolutely delicious!

I bought millionaire’s shortbread and a chocolate chip cookie from Lazy Day Foods and they were both really good. Tiffin was also on offer. I tried both flavours of kale crisps available but I preferred the lemon and pepper variety over the spicy tomato flavour, though both were good. It was my first time trying kale crisps and I’m pleasantly surprised seeing as they look like crunchy leaves!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Overall, the staff were fantastic, the free wi-fi was a great touch and the food on offer was brilliant so I’ll definitely be back again. If you’re looking for breakfast or a snack or just a nice coffee, definitely check them out if you’re in Donegal.

Leave a Reply

