Vegan Scones Recipe | Mother’s Day Treats

Mother’s Day is coming up (March 26th!) so I recently started thinking about what nice things I could do for my own mammy. Last year I took her out for afternoon tea with all the trimmings; brownies, sandwiches with the crusts cut off, chocolate covered strawberries and… scones.

My mammy is a huge scone fan, so today I figured I’d do a trial run of some yummy vegan scones for her to try! I thought if they turned out great I was going to include them in a little homemade afternoon tea on Mother’s Day. Spoiler alert -they’re yummy!

Ingredients: 

  • 470g plain flour
  • 1 tbspn baking powder
  • 70g caster sugar
  • 80g vegan butter (I use Pure)
  • 250ml non-dairy milk (I used soy) and extra for glazing
  • A dash of salt

vegan scones

Method: 

Preheat oven to 200 degrees celsius.

Sift the flour, sugar and salt into a bowl and stir together.

Add the butter and use your fingers to rub it into the flour until it looks like fine breadcrumbs (don’t worry if it seems like there’s a LOT of flour here, it’ll all come together after the next step!)

Add the milk and mix it until it forms a soft dough (you’re going to want to use your hands here).

vegan scones

Lightly flour a surface and roll the dough so that it’s about an inch thick.

Cut out the scones using a cookie cutter (I used a heart shape!)

Put scones on a baking sheet and glaze with a little milk.

Bake for about 12 minutes or until the tops are a light gold colour.

Enjoy with some raspberry jam and vegan clotted cream! 

Leave a Reply

