A Few Of My Favourite Vegan Things | A Weekend In Dublin

I don’t live in Dublin so I always indulge and treat myself whenever I get the chance to visit! By now there are several places that I always go to to treat myself. Frankly, my purse is screaming but my tummy is happy happy happy!

I met a friend who was more than happy to walk around with me and check out all the different shops I wanted to go to. A lot of the time I just go in and look but if there’s something I really want, I’ll splurge. I went to Lush just to have a peek at the new stuff and ended up buying an old favourite (Angels on Bare Skin) and some Dirty tooth tabs.

To be fair, I just ran out of my banana scented Pure Chimp cleanser so technically I need it! AoBS was about €9 so it’s not as bad as some of the cleansers I’ve bought (and it’s actually much cheaper than Pure Chimp while retaining the high quality so I think it’s good value).

vegan dublin

The tooth tabs were €6.75 and to be honest they’re just a novelty item as I already have a tube of toothpaste at home. I bought the tabs years ago when they had different packaging (a much more convenient match box style), but now they have many different flavours and there’s even mouthwash tabs as well. They smell fabulous (some have a minty clove scent) but they’re way too expensive to justify (almost €9 and they only last a month apparently if you use daily).

I also went to Nourish to get my favourite Vego bar. I only picked up the smaller one (€2.99) rather than the big one as I planned on buying a few other brands to try as well. I got iChoc White Vanilla and iChoc Choco Cookie to try out. I haven’t had white chocolate in SO long so tasting this was like heaven. I love it! At first bite I thought I could take or leave the Choco Cookie, but after eating more of it, I really like it. At about 3 quid a pop, I think I’ll only go for one at a time, but they’re both great.

I also picked up Almighty Foods’ Golden Blonde raw cacao bar. I first got it in The Vegan Kind and loved it because of its creaminess. It’s not quite as nice as I remembered but it’s still a delightful little treat with a cuppa tea! After I had my chocolate stash sorted for the next few weeks, I stopped by The Body Shop to buy lightning drops. I’d seen them online and, although they’re really expensive (€17 for a small bottle… yeesh!), it’s worth it. I’ve never had a foundation that’s light enough for my skin, but now I can just mix my own! Awesome!

Also, a lot of stuff in The Body Shop isn’t suitable for vegans, but if you’re unsure of a product just ask at the desk; they should have a list of their vegan products.

Although I’ve been trying to wear less makeup these days (I plan on going into detail on this in a future post), I’m happy that I now have a suitable foundation colour. I have yet to try it, but stay tuned for a proper review of it coming soon!

And now for the food! Oh, the food.

I picked up a chocolate hazelnut doughnut from The Rolling Donut and had it with a cup of tea after I got up (dough for breakfast – I know, it’s desperate!) and it was gorgeous. The shop has about 5 vegan flavours available every day and you can get one with a hot beverage for under a fiver. A lovely wee treat!

I also stopped by Cornucopia for a hearty healthy meal. Dublin is full of take-out places and if you’re after some hot food your options are usually limited to McDonalds, Supermacs or some other big brand garbage. Cornucopia creates meals that are full of goodness (but at a pretty steep price!). I got a tofu and butternut squash parcel with puréed peas and two salads (pasta and cucumber) as well as a green juice drink for close to €20. Sure, it’s filling, but you couldn’t pay that every day unless you were growing cash in your garden!

I also stopped by Fallon & Byrne and saw the most amazing plump beef tomatoes (they’re not actually made of or have anything to do with beef… weird name!) and I also saw coconuts ready for piercing. I’ve never seen them in shops before and I’ve also never tried coconut water straight from the coconut so I kind of regret not buying one, but good to know where they are.

vegan dublin

The sun was out in full force and I was really craving some chocolate ice cream. Unfortunately, the ice cream place at the back of St Stephen’s Green Centre doesn’t do vegan chocolate ice cream anymore. I was so disappointed! But it worked out for the best because I got some gorgeous raspberry sorbet from Murphy’s Ice Cream instead. Plus I was told by a staff member that they’re hoping to get chocolate sorbet back in soon (WOO!)

vegan dublin

My last day in Dublin was my favourite, as I got to go to Umi Falafel and pick up a delicious wrap filled with falafel, red onion, tahini, sweet chilli sauce, lettuce and tomato. I sat by the quays and watched the seagulls as I ate it and it was so relaxing. It was just what I needed before the long journey home!

Oh and Lotus Biscoff biscuits were also provided in my hotel room beside the tea tray which was just brilliant! I never expect vegan friendly biscuits in hotels so more of this please, universe!

It was such a great weekend. I can’t wait to live there again full time, though to be fair I’ll probably be the size of a house after all the doughnuts and falafel I’ll be eating!

Leave a Reply

