Vegan Nutty Chocolate Granola Recipe

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, but I often find myself skipping it because I “don’t have time” to make something nice. Usually I’ll just make a quick cup of tea with the bag still in and run off to work while chomping on a banana. Not exactly a hearty meal!

vegan granola recipe

Since I went vegan I’ve loved the Foods of Athenry products, especially the Nutty Crunch Granola cereal they offer. Unfortunately, delicious as it is, it’s quite expensive for the amount of product you get. Yesterday I decided to try my hand at some granola of my own and, if I do say so myself, it’s pretty delicious!

Ingredients: 

Half a cup of maple syrup/ date syrup

3 cups of jumbo oats

Half a cup of pumpkin seeds

1 cup of walnuts

A third of a cup of sesame seeds

Two heaped tablespoons of cacao powder

Half a cup of cacao nibs (or more, depending on taste)

A third of a cup of sunflower seeds

4 heaped tablespoons of coconut oil (solid)

vegan granola

Method: 

Melt the coconut oil and while you’re melting it mix together the dry ingredients

Spoon the syrup and melted oil together and then pour the dry and wet ingredients together

Line a baking tray with baking paper

Put the granola mixture onto the tray and toast in the oven for 5 minutes at 200 degrees celsius

Remove from the oven and let cool before eating OR (for granola with extra bite) leave overnight with a towel over it

Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

