Where To Get Vegan Dinner In Dublin

As you’ll probably know if you follow me on Instagram, I’m a huge fan of Dublin. I love it. It’s my favourite place to be, and not just because of the growing number of vegan options. And there are plenty!

vegan dinner Dublin

When I first started looking for vegan options, I either tried my luck and asked in different restaurants and cafΓ©s (if you don’t ask, you don’t get!) or I went to Cornucopia. There really weren’t very many options in Dublin when I transitioned back last year. Now, however, we’re spoiled for choice!

I’ve put together a list of places I myself have been (or others I know have been) where there are definitely vegan friendly options. I know there are a few more note-worthy places in the city as well, but I’ll mention the ones I have direct experiences with! I will do an ultimate list of vegan places in Dublin at some point though.

Sova

I was dead excited the first time I went to Sova. An ENTIRELY vegan menu? Yes, please! I’m happy to announce it’s just as delicious as you’d hope.

vegan dinner Dublin

The only item I tried that I didn’t like were the schnitzels. But everything else was fab! Read my full review here.

What to order: the seafood chowder

Koh

Like most restaurants, Koh serves meat and all manner of animal products, but they also have quite an extensive vegetarian menu and even some vegan options as well (yummy ones!)

vegan dinner Dublin

This place is what I call a “special occasion restaurant” as it’s VERY expensive, but it’s well worth the price. Get the vegetarian starter platter, which is suitable for vegans! The vietnamese rolls are to die for.

What to order: the yellow curry with tofu

Cornucopia

Cornucopia is one of Ireland’s oldest vegetarian restaurants -if not the oldest – but it is slowly making its way to becoming totally 100% vegan! It’s not there yet, but you’re always guaranteed to have a huge range of vegan choices, both for dinners and for treats!

Boojum

Burritos are the holy grail of foods for vegans. It’s also super easy to make it vegan and often doesn’t prompt a lot of questions, which is a plus for the shy vegans among us! There’s nothing tastier than a big dollop of re-fried beans and rice wrapped in a doughy pocket and filled with onions and peppers. Mmm.

Umi Falafel

One of my favourite restaurants ever, Umi is a staple for me every time I visit Dublin.

vegan dinner Dublin

It has loads of vegan options (including a semolina cake that I haven’t tried yet actually!) including plenty of ways to have your falafel as well as spinach filo rolls and wrapped vine leaves, as well as a hearty lentil soup.

What to order: Lebanese falafel with batata hara

Aperitivo

If you’re hankering after a pizza, look no further than Aperitivo! It even does vegan cheese AND vegan bacon! This restaurant is quite small (think Harry Potter’s cupboard) so it fills up fast, but if you get it on a quiet day, you’ll be in luck!

What to order: Vegan Meat Feast

Blazing Salads

Although I haven’t been here personally, I’ve heard great things. I’ve passed it plenty of times and I always seem to already have a full belly. They have lots of vegan options including a moroccan style chickpeas casserole and a tofu miso soup.

What to order: red lentil soup

Happy Food

This is a little off the beaten track, but the trek is worth it. It’s at the end of Camden Street down a side alley (so you might miss it if you’re not looking carefully!)

vegan dinner Dublin

They sell all manner of vegan food and there’s even a yoga studio attached.

What to order: the Happy burger

Diwali

You can’t go wrong with Indian food! Most Indians have a vast range of vegetarian options and, in my experience, they’re always happy to cater for vegans. Just make sure you let them know your needs and they’ll handle it for you! Namaste is another restaurant that’s good for options if you’re not close to the city.

Brasserie 66

I tried this place out with my boyfriend as a treat just to see what vegan options were available! I ended up getting seriously big portions of lovely grub. I got the organic leaf salad with black pepper croutons, roasted cherry tomatoes and olives with lemon dressing, as well as a vegetable tagine and sorbet for dessert.

The chef even offered to make me pea soup (the soup of the day had dairy in it) but I didn’t want to put him out.

What to order: vegetable tagine

Token

Dublin’s newest (and probably only) gaming bar and restaurant, this is heaven for all you geeky vegans out there. Although the menu is very expensive, the food is great and there’s huge variety!

vegan dinner Dublin

What to order: hotdogs and chips

Leave a Reply

